WOKE (Flying Lotus, Shabazz Palaces, Thundercat) f/ George Clinton-The Lavishments of Light Looking #NewMusic

The newest release in the Adult Swim Singles collection . Free Official DL adultswim.com/singles 


DJ Rahdu (BamaLoveSoul)-Love Letter 18 (The Bilal Collabs)-Mix



BamaLoveSoul sais:

Bilal’s unique vocal style has made him a commodity within the musical community. The evidence is in the number of featured appearances he’s racked up on our favorite, notable artist’s tracks over the course of a decade and a half. It’s difficult to comprehend, though, why he’s not a mainstream, household name. His desire to maintain his artistic integrity plays a part of course, in addition to a fickle market that advocates popularity over originality. To further argue the point that more recognition is due, The Philly Phenom is more than he appears; not only is he a vocalist, he’s also a songwriter, musician and producer. Talented and instilled with a desire to create diverse music that transcends genres, Bilal is a force to be reckoned with.
With 5 albums over 14 years, he’s at a one album almost every 3 year average, but the staggering number of features and productions he’s churned out is staggering. Press play and observe as Bilal blesses each track, like a chameleon, with the prefect hue to complement the soundscape provided. It’s been a true honor compiling and researching this mix as I have learned a tremendous amount about Bilal Oliver and have developed a healthy respect for him. I hope you will as well.

1 Intro
2 Scratch – Square One
3 Bilal – Robots (Tensei Remix)
4 Chrisette Michele – Can The Cool Be Loved
5 Lupe fiasco – How Dare you
6 Bilal – The Dollar (Black Milk Remix)
7 Little Brother – Second Chances
8 Jaguar Wright – I Can’t Wait (Nicolay Remix)
9 Musiq – Dontstop
10 Jeff Bradshaw – Make It Funky
11 Common – Funky For You
12 Tiombe Lockhart – Mr. Johnnie Walker
13 The Roots – The Other Side
14 Jermaine Dupri – Supafly
15 Beyonce – Everything I Do
16 Robert Glasper Experiment– Letter to Hermione (Jewels Remix)
17 Shafiq Husayn- Cheeba
18 Hezekiah – Looking Up
19 Luvpark – Fade Away
20 Robert Glasper Trio – Maiden Voyage
21 The Terence Blanchard Group – Journey
22 Zap Mama – The Way You Are
23 Otis Brown III – Part I
24 Skyzoo – Money Makes Us Happy
25 Sa-Ra – Sweet Sour You
26 J Dilla – Remember
27 88-Keys – MILF
28 Bilal – Cake & Eat It Too (Teeko Re-Funk)
29 Reflection Eternal – Ends
30 Bilal – Free (Tall Black Guy Remix)

Adina Howard-20 (A Story Of Sexual Liberation)-Documentary

Rebel Life sais:

In 1995, Adina Howard made waves in the world of music with her hit song “Freak Like Me.” Never before had a solo R&B female artist made such a bold and controlling stance sexually through song. Along with becoming one of the highest selling singles and most played music videos on MTV and BET in 1995, Adina Howard’s performance allowed young women of color and future recording artist to express their sexuality without shame.
“Adina Howard 20: A Story of Sexual Liberation” shares Adina’s story through her own words as well as the impact that she made during the 1990s and thereafter through the thoughts of fellow entertainers, educators, feminists, family and fans.
The film gives an intellectual look into the inside of the highs and lows of the life a platinum selling artist, whose work has made a lasting impact despite the polarizing feelings towards her.
Adina speaks on her relationship with Tupac Shakur, the banning of her music video from BET, landing a cameo role in the movie “Waiting to Exhale,” her encounter with legendary vocalist Nancy Wilson, working with Hollywood giants Jackie Chan and Jamie Foxx and the sudden halt to her stardom due to her comments about record exec Sylvia Rhone.

Thundercat-Them Changes-Prod. by Flying Lotus #NewMusic

Brainfeeder sais:

Virtuoso bassist and singer-songwriter Stephen Bruner aka Thundercat returns to the Brainfeeder fold with his first solo material in two years, having already made outstanding contributions to not one, but two, of the greatest albums of 2015 – To Pimp a Butterfly and The Epic – by fellow Los Angelians Kendrick Lamar and Kamasi Washington.

Mini-album ‘The Beyond / Where the Giants Roam’ will be released digitally on Monday 22nd June via Brainfeeder.


Kaytranada-BBC 1 (4/10/15)-Mix

Kaytranada is a Haitian out of Canada with a ill flip on music . He wasted no time proving it once again with this recent visit to the BBC for a mix of music including Disco , Funk , R & B , Hip-Hop , and some of his own selections . The tracklist for this is on the net’ if you look but I’m not including it here because the mix should be a surprise with the way he moves some of these records around while still keeping it smooth.

Jodeci (K-Ci & Mr. Dalvin)-Interview w/ Sway In the Morning *Video

Sway sais:

JODECI! The legendary R&B group stopped by Sway in the Morning and talked about their new album, The Past, The Present, The Future.

While in-studio they talked about why they went on their hiatus, and the 2 things that kept them relevant — a catalog and loyal fans.

Speaking of fans. Sway mentions one of our co-workers is a huge Jodeci fan — then in comes DB, aka “Debonair,” singing their praise and offering to be another member of the group!

Dalvin and K-Ci also opened up about their craziest stalker stories. From fans knowing their social security numbers to another threatening to do harm to K-Ci’s car — both stories are entertaining.

Sway then opens their conversation to old memories, and reminisces about the time they were on the set of Tupac’s How Do You Want It video shoot. Sway had done his last interview with Pac their, and K-Ci shares his vivid memories with us from that day too.